Wednesday, 21 November 2012

NHS Diabetes: Care Processes

The NHS diabetes care processes are specified in NICE Clinical Guidelines and include five risk factors  - weight (BMI), blood pressure, smoking, glucose levels (HbA1c), and serum cholesterol and four tests for early complications  - digital eye photography, laboratory urine microalbumin: creatinine ratio, serum creatinine and foot nerve and circulation examination.

It is of some interest to note what percentage of people registered with diabetes received all nine of the key processes of diabetes care. From:

% of patients receiving all care processes*

Type 1
Type 2

*For patients under 12 years of ages, ‘all care processes’ is defined as HbA1c only as the other care processes are not recommended in the NICE guidelines for this age group.

One as to ask why if they have the patient in the room they cannot complete all nine care processes.


No comments:

Post a Comment